I am a big fan of Google+. In fact, I prefer it over Facebook, but that’s another post.
With Google+ comes Communities. There are many benefits to joining a community of like-minded Googlers. Some are really good, some are filled with crap. Again, that’s a post for another time.
What I do want to share with you is what I believe is The Biggest Mistake You Can Make When Sharing to Google+ Communities.
Here’s the deal. When you choose to share a post to a Community, you don’t have the choice of sharing it with the Public or Another Community at the same time. In a way, I really like this as it avoids duplication and too much spam. But someone who is in that community can see it in the community or their homepage.
The bad news. Most people want to share it to several communities. For example, I see this happening a lot in the WordPress communities I belong to. One of the issues here is if you also belong to those same Communities you will see the post over and over and over again. A bit spammy and somewhat annoying.
Now for the BIG mistake. Each time you share the same post it will appear numerous times on your own profile. And if someone is visiting your profile, it looks like sh*t or very, very spammy. Doesn’t encourage me to add you to one of my circles and follow you.
Is this what you want people to see?
Unfortunately, I see very smart people doing this as well. And I’m sure they will argue, but Bob, the post fits so well into so many of these communities, I just can’t choose. Blah, blah, blah.
Myself, when I chose to share a post to a community, I share it to one and only one community, or publicly. Why? Because I know how crappy it looks if I do otherwise.
So next time you decide to share the same post to a bunch of communities, think first.